Challenge Blog 8 – Eating Seasonally – Cooking

In class we all helped to cook our own class meal at the Lemon Tree. We were then asked to find a recipe that uses seasonal and local foods and try it out. I have thought of a recipe that uses seasonal foods as well as local foods that I have made many times before. It is a recipe for roasted garlic. The recipe is super simple and easy while using seasonal and local food. I love garlic, especially roasted garlic. Garlic is one of my favorite foods and I put it in everything. One of my family’s favorite things to make is roasted garlic. This recipe is so easy that we do not even have a recipe for it but I have found a recipe online that is similar to what we do. The link for the recipe is below. Although I do supply this recipe, there are many other different variations of this recipe that could be used. This is just a general guideline to follow.

http://www.marthastewart.com/341007/roasted-garlic

Another thing I love about roasted garlic, besides it tasting so good and it being very easy to make, is that it is so versatile. You can do almost anything you want with roasted garlic. You can use roasted garlic instead of regular garlic in any recipe for a different flavor. You can rub it on raw chicken or corn before cooking to give it a great garlic flavor. You can spread it on toast or just eat plain which is my favorite way to eat roasted garlic.

I was not able to make this recipe here at college but I have made this recipe multiple times at home. I found a picture on the internet that shows the end result of roasting garlic.

IMG_2180-2

I highly suggest trying out roasted garlic. Even if you think you do not like garlic, try roasted garlic. It gives a whole other flavor that you would not expect. It is super easy to make and can be used in many different ways.

Leave a comment