Challenge Blog 13 (Transportation)

This week during class, we explored different ways to get around campus. Coming to UK was a huge life change for me. Not only was I living away from home, but I had to adjust to life without my most prized possession; my car. When I lived at home I drove everywhere. I did not have many different options to get around. My hometown was a mix of suburban and rural so everything is pretty spaced out. The closest grocery store was about a thirty minute walk from my house. Plus I just love driving. When I moved down here I was forced to walk everywhere. At first I did not like having to walk everywhere I went, but after a while I got used to it. I actually enjoy walking places now, especially if the weather is nice. In my mind walking places slows down life a little. It gives me time to just walk ind think, which I have come to enjoy. Living on campus puts me pretty close to everywhere I would need to be, so when I was searching for a house to rent next year I found one very close to campus so I wouldn’t need to bring my car down with me. I love my car and I miss having with me, but I care about it to much to bring it to Lexington. I love this city, but I hate driving through it. I think not having a car with me down here has made me appreciate my car even more now that I don’t have access to her all the time anymore. It’s probably a good thing for the planet that my car doesn’t get driven everyday anymore. In the pursuit of horsepower I replaced the exhaust with a straight system that doesn’t filter any of the CO2 emissions. I also put a very large turbo charger and a 93 octane fuel system tune on the car. Within a year I took a car that got good fuel mileage and low co2 emissions and turned it into a co2 producing monster. Thankfully for the planet, it doesn’t get driven very much anymore.

Leave a comment